construction

I have been designing buildings for Music For Life for over three months now.  The work has been good.  It is such a blessing to be working with the people of this ministry, as well as the people here at eMi.  The above picture is the construction of the kitchen I designed.  It is coming along very quickly.  It is crazy to realize that something that I designed is being constructed right at this moment.  The other two buildings I have designed will be constructed at a later date.  We are currently working on the working drawings for those buildings, and I should be done with those before May 27th.

On May 27th, I will be stopping work with Music For Life.  I will be going on a project trip with eMi up to Pajule.  I will be working with the organization Ugandan American Partnership Organization (UAPO).  The project we are doing is for an orphanage in Northern Uganda.  The trip will last a little over a week, in which we will do all the preliminary designs, as well as site surveying and other such work.  We will then return to Kampala to work on the rest of the project and the reports that go along with it.  This project will take me to the end of my time here in Uganda.  It should be a great experience, as well as a wonderful capstone to end my time here.  Below is a CNN article written about the organization and the work that they have done.
http://www.cnn.com/2009/WORLD/africa/04/15/uganda.orphanage/index.html#cnnSTCText

This past weekend I was able to travel out to Sipi Falls, which is in Eastern Uganda. The landscape was stunningly beautiful, and the weather was cool at night due to the high elevation.  There were three consecutive waterfalls, each leading in turn down to a massive 100 m. (300 ft.) plunge.  I was able to ab-seil (repel) down the last fall, about 10 m. to the left of the final falls (see picture below).  The views were incredible.  I will try to upload some pictures to my flickr site here within the next few days.

~ by nickinafrica on May 4, 2009.

Leave a comment